VIDEO | Fighter KO’s opponent and ref at the same time
Crazy scenes unfolded at todays Max Muay Thai, as Gou Dakui knocks out both his opponent and referee at the same time. pic.twitter.com/jfrFeVsPo6
— Yodsanan (@_Yodsanan) November 24, 2018
In any fight, refs often go unnoticed unless they mess up. Their jobs are thankless and they are often at risk inside the cage.
Stop the fight too soon and fighters get up angry with the ref. As well, they also jump into the action to stop a fight in which fighters are still throwing punches that often can catch the ref.
Well, yesterday at Max Muay Thai, Dakui Gou was the favorite to the win his fight. The outcome was exactly that, in which Gou knocked out his opponent. But when the ref stepped in to call the fight off, Gou threw a kick that connected with the ref’s head. The kick dropped the referee and knocked him out too.
Gou ultimately knocked out two people to get his win.
With the win, Gou improves to 21-9 as a professional while his opponent, Super X Sitsontidech dropped to 60-32-2 and has now been knocked out in all of his last five fights.
Gou got the win in the second round by TKO after being dropped by Super X early in round one. He battled back in the second round when he started to put the aggression on and threw a right hook which was when the ref stepped in to end the fight where Gou then threw the kick.
The kick immediately dropped the ref where he was visibly hurt. Trainers came rushing over to check on him. And, as of right now, it is unknown what the severity of the injury the ref sustained. Or if the ref sustained one at all.
Even though Gou came out victorious, this fight will go down as one of the craziest finishes in not just Muay Thai but all of fighting.
Let us know your reactions to the knockout, PENN Nation! Sound off in the comments below.
This article first appeared on BJPENN.COM on 11/25/2018.
This article appeared first on BJPENN.COM