VIDEO | Is this the most ridiculous announcing blunder in MMA history?

Imagine fighting, tooth and nail, with a dangerous opponent for three, hard rounds, and awaiting the announcement of the judges decision… You are then announced as the winner, and your heart soars—but then the announcer corrects himself, and announces that your opponent actually won the decision. Your heart plummets into your stomach. You’re disappointed, you’re distraught, you’re defeated… Then, moments later, the announcer’s voice once again rattles over the PA. Apologizing profusely, he says that he actually read the decision wrong, and you were the winner after all!

This is the chaotic procession of events that David Booker and his AFC 139 opponent Elijah Terrell recently endured. While we all make mistakes, and certainly shouldn’t be derided too severely for our human errors, there is no denying that this is one of the worst announcing blunders in MMA history—dare we say human history. Not since Steve Harvey announced the wrong winner at Miss Universe 2015 have we seen such a grievous and gut-wrenching flub. Then again, there was that Bruce Buffer blunder at UFC 205…

“My bad,” the in-cage announcer said after making this error at AFC 139. “I called it wrong. I got the scores right… I got the winner wrong. My bad, my friend. I’m sorry.”

Watch this intensely awkward debacle in the video at the top of this post. Just prepare to do some serious cringing.

This article first appeared on on 4/19/2018.

This article appeared first on BJPENN.COM