UFC Fort Lauderdale bonus report: Mike Perry, Alex Oliveira rewarded for war

By Tom Taylor - April 28, 2019

On Saturday night, the UFC returned to ESPN+ with the action packed UFC Fort Lauderdale card. As is so often the case with thrilling cards of this sort, the UFC brass had an unenviable task on their hands when it came time to hand out the bonuses for the evening’s best fight, but in the end, they decided on a main card welterweight bout between “Platinum” Mike Perry and Alex “Cowboy” Oliveira.

Mike Perry, Alex Oliveira

This thrilling showdown, which Mike Perry won by unanimous decision, earned both men $50,000 bonuses.

The evening’s Performance of the Night bonuses, likely no easier for the UFC brass to decide on, went to Glover Teixeira and Jim Miller.

The former UFC light heavyweight title challenger Teixeira picked up a nice submission victory over rising contender Ion Cutelaba on the UFC Fort Lauderdale main card. The veteran Jim Miller, meanwhile, delivered a first-round submission Jason Gonzalez on the undercard.

Here are the full results for the UFC Fort Lauderdale card:

  • 185 lbs.: Ronaldo Souza vs. Jack Hermansson – Hermansson def. Souza via unanimous decision (49-46, 48-47 x2)
  • 265 lbs.: Greg Hardy vs. Dmitrii Smoliakov – Hardy def. Smoliakov via knockout at 2:15 of Round 1
  • 170 lbs.: Alex Oliveira vs. Mike Perry – Perry def. Oliveira via unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
  • 205 lbs.: Ion Cutelaba vs. Glover Teixeira – Teixeira def. Cutelaba via submission (rear-naked choke) at 3:37 of Round 2
  • 135 lbs.: John Lineker vs. Cory Sandhagen – Sandhagen def. Lineker via split-decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
  • 155 lbs.: Thomas Gifford vs. Roosevelt Roberts – Roberts def. Gifford via unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
  • 170 lbs.: Takashi Sato vs. Ben Saunders – Sato def. Saunders via TKO (punches and elbows) at 1:18 of Round 2
  • 265 lbs.: Andrei Arlovski vs. Augusto Sakai – Sakai def. Arlovski via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
  • 115 lbs.: Carla Esparza vs. Virna Jandiroba – Esparza def. Jandiroba via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28 x2)
  • 155 lbs.: Gilbert Burns vs. Mike Davis -Burns def. Davis via submission (rear-naked choke) at 4:15 of Round 2
  • 155 lbs.: Jason Gonzalez vs. Jim Miller – Miller def. Gonzalez via submission (rear naked choke) at 2:21 of Round 1
  • 115 lbs.: Jodie Esquibel vs. Angela Hill – Hill def. Esquibel by unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27 x2)
  • 170 lbs.: Dhiego Lima vs. Court McGee – Lima def. McGee via split-decision (30-27, 28-29, 29-28)

Do you think Mike Perry and Alex Oliveira deserved Fight of the Night honors?

This article first appeared on BJPENN.COM on 4/28/2019. 

This article appeared first on BJPENN.COM


Mike Perry UFC UFC Fort Lauderdale