The Ultimate Fighter 26 Finale Results

By Adam Conklin - December 1, 2017


Rachael Ostovich, Melinda Fabian

The first ever UFC women’s flyweight champion will be crowned in the main event of The Ultimate Fighter 26 Finale. The first of two fight cards in as many days, the TUF 26 finale features the majority of the season’s cast including a Dana White’s Tuesday Night Contenders Series winner.

The main event will feature TUF 26 finalist Nicco Montaño who holds just five professional fights in MMA. She won her semifinal bout cemented her place in the inaugural title fight. Her opponent was originally meant to be Sijara Eubanks. However, Eubanks was forced to withdraw from the fight when a bad weight cut sent her to the hospital. MMA stalwart and women’s pioneer Roxanne Modafferi stepped up to replace Eubanks. Modafferi lost to Eubanks in the semifinals of TUF 26.

The co-main event features Sean O’Malley who is a red hot prospect from the DWTNCS. He picked his opponent apart on the show, much to the delight of celebrity commentator Snoop Dogg, but we have yet to see if his talents translate in the Octagon.

The coaches will compete on the PPV portion of tomorrow night’s UFC 218 card when former UFC lightweight champion Eddie Alvarez takes on former WSOF lightweight champion Justin Gaethje in a bout that has as much promise of violence as any in recent memory.

Inaugural Women’s Flyweight Title: Nicco Montaño def. Roxanne Modafferi via decision (50-45, 49-46 x2)
Sean O’Malley def. Terrion Ware via decision 29-28 x3
Lauren Murphy def. Barb Honchak via spit-decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Gerald Meerschaert def. Eric Spicely via TKO (body kick) at 2:18 of Round 2.
DeAnna Bennett vs. Melinda Fabian declared a majority draw (29-28, 28-28, 28-28)
Brett Johns def. Joe Soto via submission (calf-slicer) at :30 of Round 1.

Preliminary Card:

Montana De La Rosa def. Christina Marks at submission (armbar) at 2:00 of Round 1.
Ryan Janes def. Andrew Sanchez via TKO at :59 of Round 3.
Rachael Ostovich def. Karine Gevorgyan via submission (armbar) at 1:40 of Round 1.
Shana Dobson def. Ariel Beck via TKO at 2:53 of Round 2.

Fight Pass Preliminary Card:

Gillian Robertson def. Emily Whitmire via submission (armbar) at 2:34 of Round 1.

This article appeared first on BJPENN.COM


MMA News