On Saturday night, in the main event of UFC 237, Jessica Andrade claimed the UFC flyweight title by knocking out the champion Rose Namajunas with a brutal slam. Unfortunately, the knockout generated some controversy, as some fans felt the slam was illegal.
Speaking on Twitter in the wake of UFC 237, veteran MMA referee “Big” John McCarthy gave his take on this dramatic knockout victory from Jessica Andrade. He did his best to dispel any controversy, assuring the new champ’s victory was absolutely clean.
When Rose goes for the armbar she has a choice to either let go of the armbar or try and hold onto it and go for the ride that Andrade is going to put on her. There is no illegal slam when a submission is being attempted. It does not matter how she brings her down #AskBJM https://t.co/eBgvzcdZBY
— Big John McCarthy (@JohnMcCarthyMMA) May 12, 2019
“When Rose goes for the armbar she has a choice to either let go of the armbar or try and hold onto it and go for the ride that Andrade is going to put on her,” McCarthy wrote on Twitter. “There is no illegal slam when a submission is being attempted. It does not matter how she brings her down.”
With her knockout victory over Rose Namajunas the ferocious Jessica Andrade is now on a four-fight win streak. This impressive streak also includes a brutal, one-punch knockout triumph over Karolina Kowalkiewicz and a pair of decision wins over top ranked foes Claudia Gadelha and Tecia Torres.
Rose Namajunas, meanwhile, returns to the loss column after back-to-back victories over Joanna Jedrzejczyk. In the wake of this somewhat controversial knockout loss, she has suggested that she could potentially retire from MMA.
What did you think of the slam KO in the Jessica Andrade vs. Rose Namajunas fight at UFC 237 on Saturday night? Join the conversation in the comments section down below.
This article first appeared on BJPENN.COM on 5/11/2019.This article appeared first on BJPENN.COM