UFC Mexico Results and Highlights

Yair Rodriguez, Jeremy Stephens

The Octagon heads south of the border tonight for UFC Mexico, a twelve-bout fight card headlined by a featherweight bout between Jeremy Stephens and Yair Rodriguez.

Yair Rodriguez was last seen in action in November of 2018, where he scored a last-second knockout victory over Chan Sung Jung. The stunning win improved ‘El Pantera’s’ overall record to 11-2 in mixed martial arts.

Meanwhile, Jeremy Stephens (28-16 MMA) will be looking to snap a two-fight losing skid when he enters the cage at tonight’s UFC Mexico event.

In his most recent effort at UFC 235, ‘Lil Heathen’ suffered a unanimous decision loss to rising star Zabit Magomedsharipov. Stephens has gone 5-5 over his past ten Octagon appearances.

Tonight’s co-headliner features former women’s strawweight champion Carla Esparza taking on local talent Alexa Grasso.

Esparza (14-6) will enter UFC Mexico looking to build off the momentum of her unanimous decision victory over Virna Jandiroba from back in April.

‘The Cookie Monster’ has gone 4-3 since surrendering her title to Joanna Jędrzejczyk in March of 2015.

As for Alexa Grasso, the Mexican native is coming off a unanimous decision victory over former division title challenger Karolina Kowalkiewicz in her most recent appearance at UFC 238. That win improved Grasso’s overall record to 11-2 in mixed martial arts.

UFC Mexico Main Card:

Yair Rodriguez vs. Jeremy Stephens – Ruled a no-contest (Eye poke)
Carla Esparza vs. Alexa Grasso – Esparza def. Grasso by majority decision (28-28, 29-28 x2)
Brandon Moreno vs. Askar Askarov – Ruled a Split draw (28-28, 28-29, 30-27)
Irene Aldana vs. Vanessa Melo – Aldana def. Melo by unanimous decision (30-26 x3)
Martin Bravo vs. Steven Peterson – Peterson def. Bravo via KO (spinning backfist) at 1:31 of Round 2

UFC Mexico Prelims:

Jose Quinonez vs. Carlos Huachin – Quinonez def. Huachin by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)

Kyle Nelson vs. Marco Polo Reyes – Nelson def. Reyes via TKO (elbow and punches) at 1:36 of Round 1

Angela Hill vs. Ariane Carnelossi – Hill def. Carnelossi via TKO (cut) at 1:56 of Round 3


Sergio Pettis vs. Tyson Nam – Pettis def. Nam by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)

Paul Craig vs. Vinicius Moreira – Craig def. Moreira via submission (rear-naked-choke) at 3:19 of Round 1

Sijara Eubanks vs. Bethe Correia – Correia def. Eubanks by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Marcos Mariano vs. Claudio Puelles — Puelles def. Mariano by unanimous decision (30-25 x3)

Who are you picking to win tonight’s UFC Mexico main event between Yair Rodriguez and Jeremy Stephens? Sound off in the comments section PENN Nation!

This article first appeared on BJPENN.com September 21, 2019

This article appeared first on BJPENN.COM