UFC 236 Fighter Salaries: Max Holloway and Israel Adesanya take home top payouts

Israel Adesanya, UFC 236, Yoel Romero

Max Holloway and Israel Adesanya each took home an event-high $350,000 for their efforts at last Saturday’s UFC 236 event in Atlanta.

Israel Adesanya went to war with Kelvin Gastelum in Saturday’s co-main attraction. ‘Stylebender’ was forced to battle through adversity for the first time in his UFC career this weekend, this after being dropped by Gastelum in the opening round.

However, Adesanya would battle back to seemingly square up the judges scorecards heading into the fifth and final round. The final five minutes were dominated by ‘Stylebender’, who came very close to stopping Kelvin in the final seconds of the fight.

After five-rounds of thrilling action, Israel Adesanya was awarded a unanimous decision victory, thus claiming the promotions interim middleweight title.

Kelvin Gastelum took home $150,000 in defeat.

UFC 236 was headlined by an interim lightweight fight between Max Holloway and Dustin Poirier.

Max Holloway, Dustin Poirier, UFC 236

Like the aforementioned co-headliner, Poirier vs Holloway exceeded expectations by giving fight fans another epic blood bath to soak in.

Poirier’s edge in power was evident right from the opening bell. ‘The Diamond’ battered ‘Blessed’ with some heavy right hands in a lopsided round one.

Max Holloway would do his best to battle back, but Poirier was not to be denied and was eventually awarded a unanimous decision victory from the judges in attendance.

With the win, Poirier captured the promotions interim lightweight title and took home a cheque for $250,000.

The promotions current featherweight kingpin, Max Holloway, took home $350,000 in defeat.

Get all of the UFC 236 Fighter Salaries below via MMAJunkie:

Dustin Poirier: $250,000 (no win bonus)
def. Max Holloway: $350,000

Israel Adesanya: $350,000 (no win bonus)
def. Kelvin Gastelum: $150,000

Khalil Rountree: $70,000 (includes $35,000 win bonus)
def. Eryk Anders: $50,000

Dwight Grant: $24,000 (includes $12,000 win bonus)
def. Alan Jouban: $43,000

Nikita Krylov: $160,000 (includes $80,000 win bonus)
def. Ovince Saint Preux: $86,000

Matt Frevola: $20,000 (includes $10,000 win bonus)
def. Jalin Turner: $12,000

Alexandre Pantoja: $36,000 (includes $18,000 win bonus)
def. Wilson Reis: $34,000

Max Griffin: $40,000 (includes $20,000 win bonus)
def. Zelim Imadaev: $10,000

Khalid Taha: $20,000 (includes $10,000 win bonus)
def. Boston Salmon: $10,000

Belal Muhammad: $70,000 (includes $35,000 win bonus)
def. Curtis Millender: $31,000

Montel Jackson: $24,000 (includes $12,00 win bonus)
def. Andre Soukhamthath: $22,000

Poliana Botelho: $50,000 (includes $25,000 win bonus)
def. Lauren Mueller: $12,000

Brandon Davis: $36,000 (includes $18,000 win bonus)
def. Randy Costa: $12,000

This article appeared first on BJPENN.COM