Home » MMA News » UFC » Report | UFC men’s flyweight division being ...

Report | UFC men’s flyweight division being dissolved by end of 2018

It appears that the theory many had is ending up to be true. Demetrious Johnson’s departure isn’t the last of the 125ers that will be leaving the UFC.

It started with the talk of current champion Henry Cejudo possibly going up to challenge bantamweight champion TJ Dillashaw for his title. Soon after Johnson would head to ONE Championship as part of the first-ever MMA “trade”.

FloCombat has now reported that the men’s flyweight division is indeed on it’s way out and there has already been evidence to support this.

BREAKING: We’re hearing the #UFC men’s flyweight division is 100% being dissolved, likely done by the end of 2018.

THE KICKER: Not all flyweights are being asked to move up to bantamweight. They’re just getting cut. Unreal.

We’ll update you as we receive more info.

That evidence being the release of Jose “Shorty” Torres and Jared Brooks who took to social media today to address the situation.

Im the 1st to be let go. I didnt get to finish my UFC contract with 2 fights left because they are cutting most of my division n not giving some of us a chance to bump up n prove ourselves like myself. So now it’s time to move on to bigger and better things. Good luck small guys!

To give an idea as to who may be some fighters that won’t be getting to stick around and move up to 135-pounds, ESPN’s Ariel Helwani offered up some interesting insight.

If you’re coming off a loss at 125, it doesn’t look great. However, legally, if you’re coming off a win and have fights left on your contract UFC can’t release you. That’s why you’ll see some go up to 135 rather than leave (unless they really want to, I suppose).

The UFC flyweight division was created in 2012 and began in a tournament format that featured the previously mentioned all-time winningest UFC champion “Mighty Mouse” Johnson, Yasuhiro Urishitani, Joseph Benavidez and the world’s No. 1 flyweight at the time, Ian “Uncle Creepy” McCall.

Since then, only Johnson and Cejudo have held the division’s title.


This article first appeared on BJPenn.com on 11/7/2018

This article appeared first on BJPENN.COM