UFC NEWS – Yamasaki vs. Silva vs. Prater: UFC 142 Tainted With Refs Bad Call
Tonight’s UFC 142 event was one of the most brutally entertaining events in recent memory. From top to bottom the main card fighter’s delivered in a big way with finish after finish after finish.
However, the official standings on the main card has one glaring gap in decisive wins when it shouldn’t.
Carlo Prater notched a victory tonight via disqualification over the rising star in Erick Silva.
The two faced off in the center of the Octagon tonight in their main card featured attraction. A slight touch of gloves and a brief feeling out process was followed up by a brutal knee to the body delivered by Silva that dropped his opponent where he stood.
A shuffle for position and several unanswered blows to the head later and referee Mario Yamasaki halted the bout and sent Silva and his corner into celebration mode.
It took the Brazilian, Silva, just 29 seconds to crush his opponent with a violent display of strikes. But he did it all in vain.
In one of the strangest developments in Mixed Martial Arts history the third man in the cage, went to the celebrating fighter’s corner to notify him that he was disqualified from the match due to illegally striking his opponent to the back of the head.
It was an obvious bad call for anyone who had a good view of the action. Silva carefully placed his blows to the side of his opponents head, but while transitioning positions, grazed Praters head in the illegal zone just once. The blow itself was unintentional and was in no way the reason Prater was finished.
UFC ringside commentator Joe Rogan reviewed the replay in-depth for the audience, the fighter’s in the ring and Yamasaki in an attempt to prove his point that a DQ was just a bad call, but it was too late. The bout was already officially announced and rendered a DQ victory for Prater.
While in the cage an obviously disturbed Rogan stated, “In my mind, it’s a victory.” The UFC shared his sentiments via their official twitter account shortly after the decision was rendered with, “Roger that Joe Rogan.”
“BS call for Erick Silva,” said UFC President Dana White after the announcement was made.
It’s a problem; however Yamasaki made the call he thought appropriate at the time. An enormous amount of pressure is put on these referees to not only protect the fighters in the cage but to also keep the rules in play and render proper decisions when needed.
Unfortunately for Silva, Yamasaki got it wrong tonight.
“Everyone here knows that wasn’t intentional. I don’t know what else to say,” said a disappointed Silva once back in the locker room.
With no commission in Brazil to protest against the referee’s decision, the UFC acts as their own governing body and as such does have the ability to overturn the error made by Yamasaki should they so desire.
If they choose to stand by the call made inside the cage, the least they could do is give the young Brazilian a rematch as soon as possible and give him the opportunity to set the record straight.
About the Author
Originally slated to co-main event UFC Fight Night 35, Ovince St. Preux vs. Thiago Silva…
World Series of Fighting held their inaugural show in November of 2012 on NBC Sports…
UFC welterweights Jake Shields and Hector Lombard are set to meet in the octagon at…
The World Series Of Fighting promotion returns to action tonight with WSOF 7. WSOF 7…
Tonight BJPENN.COM will be providing live results of the ‘WSOF 7: Karakhanyan vs. Palmer’ event….
Invicta FC 7 goes down tonight from the Ameristar Casino in Kansas City. BJPENN.COM will…
Invicta Fighting Championships Strawweight contender Claudia Gadelha was forced to withdraw from Saturday’s scheduled title…
It was originally rumored that UFC Light Heavyweight Champion Jon Jones would defend his title…
We recently learned that UFC welterweight Matt Brown was forced to withdraw from his scheduled…