UFC NEWS – UFC on FOX 1's Semerzier vs. Peralta Ruled A No Contest By CSAC
If you failed to tune in on Facebook for the UFC on Fox 1 preliminary card bouts than you missed a very controversial stoppage in the fight between Mackens Semerzier and Robert Peralta.
The two bantamweight fighters went back and forth throughout the majority of the fight, with an edge conceivably given to Mackens for his efforts. That is until in a violent exchange of punches sent Semerzier down and we all watched his opponent Peralta capitalize with a flurry of ground strikes to earn the stoppage victory in the third frame of action.
A replay on the big screens of that last flurried exchange of stand-up action showed that it was not a punch that dropped Mackens to the canvas as originally thought, but am illegal head butt. While unintentional, head butts in Mixed Martial Arts are illegal and as a result, had the referee, in this case Big John McCarthy, noticed the infraction the bout would have still been stopped short, but it would have gone to the judges’ scorecards for a decision announcement.
Today it was announced that the California State Athletic Commission did in fact rule the bout a no-contest due to the infraction of the rules and as a result, the loss that was previously on Mackens record has been removed.
Justice has been served!
11 Responses to “UFC NEWS – UFC on FOX 1's Semerzier vs. Peralta Ruled A No Contest By CSAC”
Leave a Reply
You must be logged in to post a comment.