BJPENN COM

MMA News

Tuesday, 11/01/2011, 06:00 am

UFC 138 Prelims to Stream Live on Facebook


Next Saturday’s UFC 138 main card is scheduled to air for free on SPIKE TV but will be showing on a tape delay because of the location of the fights (England). However, even though the main card will be on a delay the night’s preliminary fights are still set to stream LIVE on Facebook earlier in the day. The six preliminary bouts are set to begin at 5:30 p.m. GMT local time (12:30 p.m. ET/9:30 a.m. PT).

UFC 138 will be headlined by a brawl between the red-hot Mark Munoz and the always dangerous Chris Leben. The two middleweights are both coming off of big wins and will be looking to inch closer to title contention with another win this Saturday. This fight, which is part of the main card, will air later in the day via delay on Spike TV at 8 p.m. ET/PT.

The event will be held at the 16,000-seat LG Arena at the National Exhibition Centre in Birmingham, England. This is be the final major card to air on Spike TV before the UFC’s move to FOX in 2012.

The preliminary-card bouts include a handful of exciting fights including a light heavyweight war between Cyrille Diabate (17-7-1 MMA, 2-1 UFC) and Anthony Perosh (11-6 MMA, 1-3 UFC), a welterweight scrap between Justin Edwards (7-1 MMA, 1-1 UFC) and John Maguire (16-3 MMA, 0-0 UFC), and a speedy featherweight duel between Michihiro Omigawa (12-10-1 MMA, 0-4 UFC) and Jason Young (8-4 MMA, 0-1 UFC).

Here is how the official UFC 138 fight card now stands:

MAIN CARD (Spike TV)

Chris Leben vs. Mark Munoz
Renan Barao vs. Brad Pickett
Papy Abedi vs. Thiago Alves
Terry Etim vs. Edward Faaloloto
Anthony Njokuani vs. Paul Taylor

PRELIMINARY CARD (Facebook)

Cyrille Diabate vs. Anthony Perosh
Justin Edwards vs. John Maguire
Michihiro Omigawa vs. Jason Young
Rob Broughton vs. Philip De Fries
Chris Cope vs. Che Mills
Chris Cariaso vs. Vaughan Lee

comments