“Based on the referee’s verbal warnings and his determination that the blows were intentional and a disqualifying foul, this is not the type of decision that can be reviewed. Therefore, the decision stands.
Recently, Zuffa has decided to implement the use of instant replay at all international events that are self-regulated, and to encourage all regulators to consider the feasibility and effectiveness of instant replay in the sport of MMA. While instant replay would not have reversed the call in the Silva-Prater bout, we believe that it could be valuable to referees and the sport in the future.”
UFC Vice president of regulatory affairs, Marc Ratner, released a statement yesterday evening about the controversial disqualification loss handed down at last weekend’s UFC 142 event in Brazil.
In the fight, Erick Silva appeared to have earned a TKO victory in just 29 seconds over his opponent Carlo Prater, but the referee, Mario Yamasaki deemed the bout in favor of Prater due to illegal head strikes delivered at the hands of Silva.
In fairness, there was at least one illegal shot to the back of Praters head, however this is not an uncommon occurrence in Mixed Martial Arts and as such, fans are used to seeing these without repercussions. However in the case of a commissioner review, if such a blow was recorded, no way can they overturn the bouts ruling based on their own discretion.
If anything good came out of the incident, it’s the newly inked rule of instant replay!featured, MMA NEWS, Strikeforce, strikeforce news, ufc news