Presents 2012 Women’s MMA Awards| VOTE NOW

December 28, 2012 1:57 pm
ronda rousey

The nominations for the 2012 Women’s MMA Awards presented by have been submitted and the voting polls are now officially open. To vote, simply email your picks for the categories below to [email protected] or [email protected] Voting will officially close on Dec 31 at 12 am Eastern Standard Time and the winners for each category will be announced during the first week of 2013.

In addition to the original categories, I have also added two bonus categories for ring card girl of the year and amateur fighter of the year. Those are the only two categories where all nominations were established by myself, the rest of the categories were voted in by the fans.

    Fighter of the Year

Ronda Rousey
Miesha Tate
Jessica Penne
Sara MccMann
Liz Carmouche

Fight of the Year

    Ronda Rousey vs. Miesha Tate
    Kaitlin Young vs. Leslie Smith I
    Tecia Torres vs. Kaiyana Rain
    Michele Waterson vs. Lacey Schuckman
    Miesha Tate vs. Julie Kedzie

      Story of the Year

    Ronda Rousey becomes first woman to hold a UFC title
    Invicta Fighting Championships generate massive online audience through three free events
    Jessica Penne becomes the first Invicta FC champion
    Ronda Rousey and Liz Carmouche booked as UFC 157 main event
    Liz Carmouche praised by Dana White for being first openly homosexual UFC fighter

    Role Model of the Year

Julie Kedzie
Miesha Tate
Liz Carmouche
Ronda Rousey
Jessica Penne

    Knockout of the Year

Veronica Rothenhausler KO’s Ashlee Evans
Joanne Calderwood KO’s Ashley Cummins
Sheila Gaff KO’s Jennifer Maia
Vanessa Porto KO’s Luana Teixeira
Sheila Bird KO’s Christina Barry

Submission of the Year

    Sarah D’Alelio armbars Vanessa Porto
    Ronda Rousey armbars Miesha Tate
    Jessica Eye arm triangle chokes Zoila Gurgel
    Ronda Rousey armbars Sarah Kaufman
    Jessica Penne triangle chokes Naho Sugiyama

    Brand of the Year

Invicta Fighting Championships
Bellator Fighting Championships
Cage Candy

Best Contribution to Women’s MMA of 2012

    Shannon Knapp (Invicta FC President/CEO)
    Ronda Rousey (UFC Women’s bantamweight champion)
    Janet Martin (Invicta FC matchmaker)
    Miesha Tate (Former Strikeforce women’s bantamweight champion)
    Robert Sargent (MMA Rising/Unified Women’s MMA Rankings)

      Broadcaster of the Year

    Julie Kedzie (Invicta FC)
    Mauro Renallo (Strikeforce/Invicta FC)
    King Mo Lawal (Invicta FC)
    Jimmy Smith (Bellator Fighting Championships)
    Pat Miletich (Strikeforce)

      Newcomer of the Year

    Tecia Torres
    Joanne Calderwood
    Jessamyn Duke
    Ediane Gomes
    Kaiyana Rain
    Raquel Pennington
    Jocelyn Lybarger

      Who to watch out for in 2013

    Carla Esparza
    Jodie Esquibel
    Sara McMann
    Vanessa Porto
    Felice Herrig

    *BONUS CATEGORIES/ All Nominations made by Mitch Ciccarelli*

      Ring Girl of the Year

    *Only ring girls that worked during female fights have been nominated/ no UFC Octagon girls*

    Jennifer Swift
    Natasha Wicks
    Gianna Puppo
    Shannon Ihrke
    Jade Bryce
    Mercedes Terrell
    Stephanie Ann Cook
    Shelby Gast

      Amateur Fighter of the Year

    Jordan Nicole Gaza
    Jordan McDonald
    Erin McDougall
    Veronica Rothenhausler
    Cortney Casey
    Kaiyana Rain
    Tecia Torres
    Brittany Dugas

    Tags: , , , , , , ,


Shouted out after victory to the UFC masses, BJPENN.COM is the home to multiple time champion BJ Penn. After a decade of on-line operation BJPENN.COM has evolved into the most reliable destination for all your fighter interviews, fighter blogs and MMA/UFC news stories.

Advertise wtih us

Please contact us for all advertising inquiries.
Simple Share Buttons
Simple Share Buttons