BJPENN.COM Middleweight Top 10 (Updated 10/17/11)

October 17, 2011 5:40 pm by Pedro Carrasco

The world top 10 middleweight rankings according to the panel at BJPENN.COM consist of all UFC and Strikeforce fighters with the exception of Bellator champion, Hector Lombard.

Anderson Silva is the current UFC middleweight champion and as such gets the number one seat on our rankings system. With his years of dominance over the middleweight division he has proven himself as the best middleweight to every roam the face of planet earth.

There have been several changes to our middleweight top 10 since we last published the lineup.

Most notable is the removal of Nate Marquardt who has been ejected from the UFC and is set to return to welterweight somewhere over in the UK. We don’t really need to explain further as to why he has been removed from our top 10.

The rest of the roster is just a slight reshuffle, but the top three remain the same without change.

Mark Munoz gets a promotion with his recent win over Demian Maia, that coupled with the 4 spot being left vacant by Marquardt gives the wrestling standout (and the rest of the top 10) an automatic bump up in ranking and Munoz is settled in at the number 4 seat and puts his most recent opponent, Maia in the 5 position.

Our former number 5 guy is Jacare Souza who looked less than stellar in his last outing against Luke Rockhold. As a result we bump him all the way down to the 10 spot and again, his saving grace is Marquardt’s dismissal or he would be left out of our top 10 entirely.

Rockhold, the man who beat the aforementioned Souza makes his debut on our top 10 in the number 9 slot and as a result bumps our other characters not yet mentioned up one notch.

That leaves Bisping at 6, Stann at 7 and Lombard at 8 to round out our middleweight top 10.

The BJPENN.COM staff has analyzed recent activity and all around performance inside professional competition and broke down to the 10 middleweights in MMA as follows:

2: Chael Sonnen
3: Yushin Okami
4: Mark Munoz
5: Demian Maia
6: Michael Bisping
7: Brian Stann
10: Ronaldo “Jacare” Souza

Tags: , , , ,


Shouted out after victory to the UFC masses, BJPENN.COM is the home to multiple time champion BJ Penn. After a decade of on-line operation BJPENN.COM has evolved into the most reliable destination for all your fighter interviews, fighter blogs and MMA/UFC news stories.

Advertise with us

For all advertising inquiries click here.

About us

Please contact us for all website inquiries.