VIDEO | UFC 217 weigh-in highlights – Georges St-Pierre’s first middleweight appearance

November 3, 2017 12:12 pm by Russell Ess

We are just a day away from UFC 217, which is surely one of the biggest cards of the year. With the UFC’s return to Madison Square Garden in New York, the stacked card will feature three title fights.

The main event of the evening will feature UFC middleweight champion Michael Bisping defending his title against former UFC welterweight champion Georges St-Pierre. This is a huge matchup as it is St-Pierre’s first fight in the UFC since November of 2013 where he won a close and controversial split decision title fight against Johny Hendricks. This also marks the first time “Rush” will be fighting at middleweight in his professional MMA career.

Georges St-Pierre

In the co-main event of the evening, UFC bantamweight champion Cody Garbrandt will look to settle his feud with former teammate and former UFC bantamweight champion TJ Dillashaw. The two were teammates on Team Alpha Male until Dillashaw decided to move his training to Colorado and just recently established a new team in California.

Also on the card, UFC women’s strawweight champion Joanna Jedrzejczyk will look to successfully defend her title for the sixth time and tie Ronda Rousey’s record for the most consecutive female title defenses. However, Rose Namajunas has her own plans of becoming champion and will look to derail the dominant Jedrzejczyk.

UFC 217

Check out the full UFC 217 weigh-in results via MMA Junkie:

UFC 217 Main Card | Pay-Per-View | 10p ET / 7p PT
Champ Michael Bisping (184.6) vs. Georges St-Pierre (184.4) – for middleweight title
Champ Cody Garbrandt (135) vs. T.J. Dillashaw (134.8) – for bantamweight title
Champ Joanna Jedrzejczyk (115) vs. Rose Namajunas (114) – for women’s strawweight title
Jorge Masvidal (171) vs. Stephen Thompson (170.4)
Paulo Costa (185.8) vs. Johny Hendricks (185.8)

UFC 217 FS1 Prelims | FS1 | 8p ET / 5p PT
Joseph Duffy (155.4) vs. James Vick (155.2)
Mark Godbeer (244) vs. Walt Harris (251.8)
Corey Anderson (205.4) vs. Ovince Saint Preux (205)
Randy Brown (170.8) vs. Mickey Gall (169.8)

UFC 217 Early Prelims | UFC Fight Pass | 6:30p ET / 3:30p PT
Curtis Blaydes (258.8) vs. Aleksei Oleinik (246.2)
Ion Cutelaba (205.6) vs. Michal Oleksiejczuk (205.2)
Ricardo Ramos (135.4) vs. Aiemann Zahabi (135.2)

This article first appeared on BJPenn.com on 11/3/2017.


About BJPENN.com

Shouted out after victory to the UFC masses, BJPENN.COM is the home to multiple time champion BJ Penn. After a decade of on-line operation BJPENN.COM has evolved into the most reliable destination for all your fighter interviews, fighter blogs and MMA/UFC news stories.

Advertise with us

For all advertising inquiries click here.

About us

Please contact us for all website inquiries.