BJPENN COM

Exclusive Interviews

Monday, 01/21/2013, 12:18 pm

Exclusive: Erik Koch Ready To Do What Needs To Be Done To Get Title Shot Back | UFC NEWS

BJPENN.com’s FIST-ta-CUFF radio talks to Erik Koch before he faces Ricardo Lamas on January 26, 2013 at UFC on Fox 6.  Koch was expected to face José Aldo for the UFC Featherweight Championship on July 21, 2012, at UFC 149.  However, Aldo was forced out of the bout citing an injury and the bout was postponed.  Koch was expected to face José Aldo on October 13, 2012 at UFC 153 UFC Featherweight Championship. However, Koch was forced out of the bout with another injury and replaced by Frankie Edgar.  His opponent Ricardo Lamas is coming off a win over Hatsu Hioki at UFC on FX 4 moving Lamas to 3-0 in the UFC.  Before the win over Hioki, Lamas had a “Submission of the Night” win over Cub Swanson and a knockout victory over Matt Grice.

Koch states in this interview  if he wins this bout opposite Lamas and watches Aldo vs Edgar

“I will personally walk in there [the octagon] and do what needs to be done to get that title shot.”

“Everyone keeps on talking about the title shot that got taken away I’m not worried about that.  I just wanna get the win against Ricardo – he’s a tough dude.  He’s not a dude to sleep on.  I think a lot of people have slept on him so I’m not making that same mistake, man.  It’s all Ricardo Lamas and we’ll worry about title picture later.”

“I’m a fighter.  I love to fight.  I’m just excited to get in there and fight regardless.  The title is there  – it aint going anywhere.  I’m gonna get it eventually but I’m gonna do what I have to – to get there.  I’m not gonna complain about it.  I’m just gonna do my job.”

Listen to Erik Koch’s entire interview in the player below.

UFC Featherweights Erik Koch and Ricardo Lamas will meet when the UFC returns to Chicago in January 26 for UFC on FOX 6.

Main Card (8 PM ET/5 PM PT):

Demetrious Johnson vs. John Dodson [World Championship-weight title]
Quinton Jackson vs. Glover Teixeira
Donald Cerrone vs. Anthony Pettis
Erik Koch vs. Ricardo Lamas

FX Card (5 PM ET/2 PM PT):

T.J. Grant vs. Watt Miman
Clay Guida vs. Hatsu Hioki
Ryan Bader vs. Vladimir Matyushenko
David Mitchell vs. Simeon Thoresen
Shawn Jordan vs. Mike Russow
Pascal Krauss vs. Mike Stumpf

Facebook Card (4 PM ET/1 PM PT):

Sean Spencer vs. Rafael Natal
Michael Kuiper vs. Josh Janousek

Listen to
internet radio with FIST TA CUFF RADIO on Blog Talk Radio

comments